top of page

Convenient list of bank holidays for 2024 / 2025



The expected dates and days of Northern Ireland bank and public holidays for this year, and the next year, are listed below.


Bank or Public Holiday 2024

  • New Year's Day Monday 1 January

  • St Patrick's Day Monday 18 March*

  • Good Friday Friday 29 March

  • Easter Monday Monday 1 April

  • May Day Bank Holiday Monday 6 May

  • Spring Bank Holiday Monday 27 May

  • Battle of the Boyne Friday 12 July

  • Summer Bank Holiday Monday 26 August

  • Christmas Day Wed 25 December

  • Boxing Day Thurs 26 December


Bank or Public Holiday 2025

  • New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January

  • St Patrick's Day Monday 17 March

  • Good Friday Friday 18 April

  • Easter Monday Monday 21 April

  • May Day Bank Holiday Monday 5 May

  • Spring Bank Holiday Monday 26 May

  • Battle of the Boyne Monday 14 July**

  • Summer Bank Holiday Monday 25 August

  • Christmas Day Thurs 25 December

  • Boxing Day Friday 26 December


*In 2024, as St Patrick's Day falls on a Sunday, the public holiday is given as Monday 18 March 2024.

**In 2025, Monday 14 July 2025 is a substitute day as 12 July falls on a Saturday.


What are bank and public holidays?

Bank holidays are holidays when banks and many other businesses are closed for the day. Public holidays are holidays that have been observed through custom and practice, such as Christmas Day.


Special bank holidays

There are laws that allow the dates of bank holidays to be changed, or other holidays to be declared, for example, to celebrate special occasions.


Find out about employees' rights on pay and time off on public and bank holidays and for more information about paid leave, see know how much holiday to give your staff.

__________


028 7032 6600 | Contact Riada

bottom of page